• Sleepy Hollow, Nainital, Uttarakhand
  • registrar@kunainital.ac.in
Mathematics Department: DSB Campus, Nainital

The Department of Mathematics was established in 1973 (under university status) and has units in both the Campuses. The department of mathematics of Kumaun University at DSB Campus came into existence in 1951 under the leadership of Dr. A.N. Singh, a renowned scholar of Hindu Mathematics and the Department of Mathematics at SSJ Campus, Almora came into Existence in the year 1962. Both these departments are one of the biggest in the respective campuses in terms of strength of the students. The Department is running undergraduate, post graduate and Ph. D. programs ever since 1973. The department has well equipped computer laboratories for PG students at both the campuses.

Academic Programs offered:
  1. Three years undergraduate degree program (B.A./B.Sc.).
  2. Four semesters (Two years) Masters degree program (M.A./M.Sc.).
  3. Ph. D. Program under UGC regulation 2009 with pre Ph. D. course work.

Areas of Research:

Nonlinear Analysis, Dynamical Systems, Fixed Point Theory, Fuzzy Analysis, Reliability Theory, Optimization Theory, Differential Geometry / Finsler Geometry The Department conducts regular seminars for Post Graduate students to introduce them to the emerging areas in Mathematics and initiate them into research in Mathematics.

The department at DSB Campus has a vibrant research atmosphere which is reflected by the research publications of the faculty and research scholars. The wide recognition of the research work coming out from the department is evident in the large number of citations. The h-index, which is internationally recognized index of the quality of research, of the research publications of the department is 20. In recognition of the high quality research work being done in the department, the Department of Science and Technology (DST), Government of India, has selected the department for financial assistance under DST FIST-2014 (Level 1). The National Board of Higher Mathematics (NBHM), Government of India has selected the department under its library grant scheme for providing better library facilities to the research students. The department received a sum of Rs. 35 lac from UGC in the XI five year Plan. The outreach activities undertaken by department have been recognized by scientific bodies including DST and NBHM ( www.nbhm.dae.gov.in/libraries.html ). As part of this linkage with these bodies, Professor R P Pant is a member of the State Scientific Review Committee of the IRIS Program of the DST ( http://dst.gov.in/whats_new/press-release06/newsindex06.htm ) and Professor M C Joshi is the State Coordinator (Uttarakhand) of the National Mathematical Olympiad Program of the NBHM ( http://olympiads.hbcse.tifr.res.in/subjects/mathematics ).

Lab facilities:

A computer lab of 25 PCs & 1 Xerox Machine.


The department has a library having around eight hundred reference/text books. The library is supported by the National Board of Higher Mathematics (NBHM ) since 2009 under its library grant scheme.

Head of the Department

Name : Dr. Mahesh C. Joshi

Phone : 9412438601

Email : mcjoshi69@gmail.com

Faculty Members of DSB Campus, Nainital
S.No Name Designation Specialization Email Phone Photograph Academic Profile
1 Dr. Mahesh C. Joshi Professor & Head Nonlinear and Fuzzy Analysis mcjoshi69@gmail.com 9412438601 Dr. Mahesh C. Joshi View Profile
2 Dr. S. K. Chanyal Assistant Professor Riemannian Geometry skchanyal1432@rediffmail.com Dr. S. K. Chanyal View Profile
3 Dr. Deepak Kumar Assistant Professor Reliability Theory deepakdev16@gmail.com 9456393693 Dr. Deepak Kumar View Profile
4 Dr. Anita Kumari Sr. Assistant Professor Riemannian Geometry, Fuzzy-Logic anita.shiv2010@gmail.com 9410517012 Dr. Anita Kumari View Profile
5 Dr Bharti Joshi Assistant Professor (Contractual) Fixed Point Theory, Nonlinear Analysis bhartijoshi20592@gmail.com +918859074011 Dr Bharti Joshi View Profile
6 Dr Rohit Kumar Assistant Professor (Contractual) Fixed Point Theory, Nonlinear Analysis rohitk0351@gmail.com +918755128147 Dr Rohit Kumar View Profile
7 Dr Chetna Mahara Assistant Professor (Contractual) Frame Theory, Operator Theory chetnamehra2992@gmail.com +918393993888 Dr Chetna Mahara View Profile