• Sleepy Hollow, Nainital, Uttarakhand
  • registrar@kunainital.ac.in
Geology Department: Kumaun University, Nainital

The Department of Geology, Kumaun University focus on the understanding and development of natural environment and obtaining research goals that intends to be fruitful to the society particularly inhabiting in the Himalaya. The department endeavours to make its students intelligently aware of the various problems of Geology, further encouraging them to develop observational and interpretational abilities so that the future geologists of the department inculcates a feeling towards “Make in India” leading to a healthy environment. Since its inception, Department of Geology has perpetuated the tradition of being pro-active in the field of geological science research. Reckoned as a sole undergraduate department in 1975 of its kind, in the following years it became an active centre of teaching and research in 1977 in the field of geochemistry, petrology, tectonics, sedimentology, structural geology and environmental geology. In recognition of its outstanding teaching and research, the Geology Department was approved by the University Grants Commission, New Delhi for its Special Assistance Programmes (COSIST, DRS, SAP, CAS). Therefore the department received magnanimous grants under COSIST Phase- I (1984), Special Assistance Programme (SAP) Phase- I (1989), COSIST-Phase- II (1991) and SAP-Phase- II (1997), SAP-Phase- III (2003), ISD (UGC) (2007) and CAS-Phase-I (2011-2016) and CAS-Phase-II (2018-2023) heralding the overall development of the department.

The Hill Development Department contributed generously for the construction and furnishing of the building of Geology Department at its present site (the Durham) overlooking the Naini Lake. In recognition to its major research contributions, the Department of Science and Technology, New Delhi has recognised the Geology Department under its FIST scheme for level- I (2002-2007), FIST Level – I (2007-2012) and FIST Level-II (2014-2020, extended).

The gamut of teaching comprises numerous and versatile disciplines of Geology. The traditional teaching together with the basic approach to the geological instruments is done at the undergraduate level while interdisciplinary subjects of emerging areas and including the use of sophisticated and latest technologies are incorporated in the post-graduate curriculum.

The Department abodes in the Himalaya emphasising on extensive fieldwork and practical training in different aspects of earth science to meet the challenges ahead. The courses are modified from time to time keeping in view the contemporary developments and requirements of the job market.

The department is exploring new dimensions of the Earth Sciences towards recent development at the onset of new millennium. The research endeavours are inclined for a better framework involving sustainable development and management of natural resources (minerals, rocks and water) so that preservation of natural environment can be achieved. The department is indulged in the hotcake research of the central sector of the Indian Himalaya, the most tectonically responsive sector of the Himalayan Arc, India.

Teaching & Research Activities

The research activities in the department includes a multidisciplinary approach in the sedimentological and lithostratigraphic juxtaposition of the Lesser Himalaya, petro-chemical studies of crystallines, intrusive bodies and metamorphic thrust sheets of Uttarakhand, Ladakh, Northeastern Himalaya and Central India, neotectonics and kinematics of faults of Kumaun Himalaya and Ganga Plain, geological and geomorphological investigations of Quaternary sediments of Kumaun Himalaya and Ganga Plain, palaeoclimatic investigations of palaeolakes and speleothems of Uttarakhand, Himachal and Kashmir, and seismological monitoring of Uttarakhand.

Thrust Areas:
  1. Petrotectonic Evolution of Himalaya and Indian Cratons
  2. Active Tectonics, Sedimentary Basin Evolution, and Palaeoclimates of Himalaya, Foreland and Indian Ocean Regions
  3. Ore Genesis and Mineral Exploration
Head of the Department

Name : Dr. Pradeep Goswami

Phone : 09411196852

Email : drpgoswami@yahoo.com

Specialization: Sedimentology, Tectonic Geomorphology

Faculty Members of DSB Campus Nainital
S.No Name Designation Specialization Email Phone Photograph Academic Profile
1 Dr. Santosh Kumar Professor Igneous Petrology and Geochemistry skyadavan@yahoo.com 09411197714 Dr. Santosh Kumar Know More
2 Dr. G. K. Sharma Professor Micropalaeontology & Stratigraphy gksharma61@yahoo.com 09411107082 Dr. G. K. Sharma Know More
3 Dr. Pradeep Goswami Professor & Head Sedimentology, Tectonic Geomorphology drpgoswami@yahoo.com 09411196852 Dr. Pradeep Goswami Know More
4 Dr. Rajeev Upadhyay Professor Geodynamics, Himalayan Geology rajeev_up@yahoo.com 09411102348 Dr. Rajeev Upadhyay Know More
5 Dr. Deepa Arya Assistant Professor Ore Geology arya.earth11@gmail.com 09410144388 Dr. Deepa Arya Know More
6 Dr. Manisha Sanguri Guest Faculty Metamorphic Petrology, mineralogy and Fluid inclusion study manisha.sanguri@gmai.com 09528934141 Dr. Manisha Sanguri Know More
7 Mr. Nirmit Sah Guest Faculty Mineralogy and Fluid inclusion study nishusah3@gmail.com 07409119189 Mr. Nirmit Sah Know More

Geology Department: DSB Campus, Nainital
  1. Time Table (Year 2020-21)