• Sleepy Hollow, Nainital, Uttarakhand
  • registrar@kunainital.ac.in
Forestry Department: DSB Campus, Nainital

The Uttarakhand state with close to 65 per cent forest area offers wide opportunities to the students with graduate and post graduate degrees in Forestry. The management of forest cover is one of the major challenges before the state from which major ecosystem services emanate. Thus, Forestry education would help in fulfilling the growing demand for Forestry professionals for conservation and management of Forestry resources at national and international levels. The department of Forestry and Environmental Sciences has attained the goal of starting undergraduate and post-graduate programmes, conducting researches and implementing extension programmes in the envisaged areas. The department has been accredited as an ‘A’ Grade department by the Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education, Dehradun in the year 2010. The department has been accredited by the Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education, Dehradun on March 17, 2017 through presentation before accreditation Board meeting of ICFRE. The Department will have to play the most important role in the development of Forestry education in this remote part with a natural laboratory would help in developing the economy and managing the forests of the state as well as of the nation in the next years. The department has signed MoU with Herbal Research Development Institute, Gopeshwar, Govind Ballabh Pant Institute of Himalayan Environmental and Development, Kosi-Katarmal, Almora; National Botanical Garden, Lucknow (NBRI); National Bureau of Plant Genetics Resources (NBPGR), Bhowali; Central Himalayan Environmental Association (CHEA) and CEDER, Dehardun. The department envisages strengthening the academic activities through the following specific programmes:

  1. Starting post graduate programmes in Forestry Management, Agroforestry, Land Resource Management, Forest Extension and Industrial Forestry.
  2. Starting postgraduate programmes in Medicinal and Aromatic Plants; Production, Processing and Utilization of Herbal Plants.

Vision of the Department

  1. Conservation and Scientific Management of the natural resources of the State/country by training forestry students.
  2. To contribute to the advancement of knowledge through Teaching, research, publications and dissemination.
  3. To meet the growing demand of forestry and environmental professionals in natural resource based industries, government and NGO sectors.
Head of the Department

Name : Dr. Anil Kumar Yadava

Phone : 9412966520

Email : akyadava09@gmail.com

About Head of Department: Clearing ASRB-NET in 1994 and 1995, he joined the department on August 02, 1999 as Lecturer, selected Reader on July 13, 2005 and Associate Professor on July 12, 2008 and Professor on July 13, 2011(due date). He obtained his B.Sc. Forestry degree from Govind Bhallabh Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pantnagar, in 1990, M.Sc. Forestry from Kumaun University, Nainital in 1992 and awarded Ph. D. Forestry (Agroforestry) degree from Forest Research Institute (Deemed University), Dehradun in 1997. Before joining the university he worked in Vidhya Bhawan Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Udaipur as Training Associate (Agroforestry), as Senior Manager at Kitply Industries Ltd. , Kolkatta, as Manager at Mittle Musli Farm, Maharatstra and Senior Manager, Enbee Plantation Pvt. Ltd., Bhopal. He has supervised 04 Ph. D. students and 08 students presently perusing Ph. D. He received S. K. Seth prize for the year 2010 by the Indian Forester and also a member of large number of societies/ academics etc. He has published three books and forty research papers in reputed national and international journals/seminars.

Faculty Members of DSB Campus, Nainital
S.No Name Designation Specialization Email Phone Photograph Academic Profile
1 Prof. Jeet Ram Professor Ecology, Forestry, biodiversity, Seed Science jeetram2001@yahoo.com 9412084571 Prof. Jeet Ram View Profile
2 Dr. Anil Kumar Yadava Professor & campus Head Forestry, Agroforestry, Forest Ecology akyadava09@gmail.com 9412966520 Dr. Anil Kumar Yadava View Profile
3 Dr. L.S. Lodhiyal Professor Forest Ecology, JFM, Watershed lslodhiyal@yahoo.com 9410373658 Dr. L.S. Lodhiyal View Profile
4 Dr. Ashish Tewari Associate Professor Ecology Eco-Physiology, Forest Seed Science, Climate Change, Forestry atewari69@gmail.com 9412994110 Dr. Ashish Tewari View Profile
5 Dr. Neeta Arya Contractual Faculty Forest Ecology neetaaryadr@gmail.com 9412163234 Dr. Neeta Arya View Profile
6 Dr. Kuber Ginti Teaching Personal Forestry, Ecology kuberginti@gmail.com 9897894380 Dr. Kuber Ginti View Profile
7 Dr. Ira Tewari Teaching Personnel Forestry, Ecology ilratiwari@gmail.com Dr. Ira Tewari View Profile
8 Dr. Bijendra Lal Teaching Personnel Forestry, Ecology bijendraforestry85@gmail.com Dr. Bijendra Lal View Profile
9 ManMohan Singh Kanwal Teaching Personnel Forestry, Ecology, agroforestry manmohan00@gmail.com ManMohan Singh Kanwal View Profile

Courses offered in the Department: DSB Campus, Nainital
Course Program Duration Annual intake of students
U. G B. Sc. Forestry (self- financed) 4 Years degree (8 Sem) 25
B. Sc. 3 Years 40
P.G M. Sc Forestry 2 Years (4 Sem) 10
Ph. D Forestry As per availability of seats
P. G. Diploma Mountain Ecosystem and Climate Change 1 Year (2 Sem) 10
Courses offered in the Department: SSJ Campus, Almora
Course Program Duration Annual intake of students
U. G B. Sc 3 Years 50
P.G M. Sc Forestry 2 Years (4 Sem)  
Ph. D Forestry As per availability of seats