

The Court Kumaun University, Nainital

The Court shall consist of the following members, namely—

Class I — Ex officio Members

- the Chancellor;
- the members of the Executive Council;
- the Finance Officer;

Class II — Life Members

in the case of an existing University, every person who was a life member of the Court or Senate immediately before the commencement of this Act;

Class III — Representatives of Teachers, etc.

- all heads of departments of the University and of constituent colleges maintained by it;
- the Deans of Faculties of Medicine and Engineering, if they are not members of the Executive Council;
- two representatives of provosts and wardens of hostels and halls of the University and of its constituent colleges and Institutes to be selected by rotation in the manner prescribed;
- all Principals of constituent colleges maintained by the State Government;
- fifteen teachers to be selected in the manner prescribed;
- two representatives of the managements of the affiliated or associated colleges to be selected by rotation in the manner prescribed;

Class IV — Registered Graduates

fifteen representatives of registered graduates to be elected, by registered graduates of such standing as may be prescribed from amongst such of them as are not in the service of the University or of an Institute or of a constituent college or in the service or connected with the management of affiliated college, associated college, hall or hostel;

Class V — Representation of Students

one student from each of the faculties, who having secured the highest marks in that Faculty at the preceding degree examination of any University is pursuing a course of study for a postgraduate degree or a law or a medical or engineering degree in the University (including an affiliated or associated college);

Class VI — Nominees of Chancellor

Class VII — Representatives of the State Legislature

- two members of the Legislative Council to be elected by it;
- five members of the Legislative Assembly to be elected by it.

The term of office of members of each class, except Classes I, II and V, mentioned in sub-section (1) shall be three years and the term of the members of the said class V shall be one year.